risperdal conditionally approved for some uses in youth

“[T]he approvable letter concerns treatment of schizophrenia in adolescents aged 13-17 and for short-term treatment of the manic phase of bipolar disorder among children and adolescents ages 10-17”.

I wonder what it’s conditional on.

This was going to be a longer post on kids and antipsychotics, but I got some very good news and am going to go celebrate instead.

2 Responses to risperdal conditionally approved for some uses in youth

  1. L.RabbitGirl says:

    The age differences strike me as odd and I’d really like to know/understand the reasoning behind 13-17 for schizophrenia vs 10-17 for bipolar. Something to do with lots of numbers, I’m sure, but I’d like to see those numbers.

  2. resonance says:

    I think it’s actually because that maps onto adolescents for schizophrenia and adolescents plus (older) kids for bipolar. So it might be the categories instead of the numbers. I don’t know why ten as the cutoff, though.

Leave a Reply

